Workspaces


Definition

Workspaces are smart browser windows that remember the tabs you open in them automatically. Workspaces autosave after every change, so you'll never need to manually save a workspace once you've created it.

For example, you can create a workspace, open five tabs in it, close it, and when you reopen it, all five tabs will be reopened just like you left them.

Use workspaces to keep everything you need for your projects, meetings, and workflows in one place and even share them with your team.


Create a workspace

Create a workspace from scratch

If you're starting a new project, meeting, or workflow, it's simple to create an empty workspace for it.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the + button at the top of the sidebar.
  3. Select New workspace.
  4. Type in a name.
  5. Click Create workspace.

Create a blank unsaved workspace

Adding an unsaved workspace is the equivalent of opening a new window, but within Workona's environment.

If you just need to check something quickly, or want to start a project you're unsure you want to save yet, opening an unsaved workspace is the way to go.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the + button located on the right side of the open workspace tabs.
  3. You're instantly moved to an unsaved workspace and placed on a new tab so you can start browsing immediately.

Create a workspace within a specific section

Once you've created a section to organize your workspaces, you can create workspaces directly within them.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the section in the sidebar.
  3. Click the + button that appears to the right of the section's name.
  4. Type in a name.
  5. Click Create workspace.

Save a window as a workspace

Another supported workflow is to open a new browser window and work in it like you normally do. If you decide you want to hold onto it, then you can easily save the window as a workspace at any time.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click in the title to give it a name.
  3. Click Save (or press the Return/Enter key).

Alternatively, if you have Workona on your new tab:

  1. Open the new tab.
  2. Click the Save Workspace button in the upper right of the new tab.
  3. Type in a name.
  4. Click Create workspace.


Open a workspace

Open a workspace in the current window

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click on the workspace's name in the sidebar.
  3. The tabs you had open in the window before will be moved to the tab cache.
  4. The workspace you clicked on will be opened in your current window.

Open a workspace in a new window

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hold the Command (Mac) or Control (Windows) key.
  3. Click on the workspace's name in the sidebar.

Alternatively, if you have Workona on your new tab:

  1. Open a new browser window.
  2. Click on the workspace's name in the sidebar.

Open a workspace from search

  1. Open Workona search.
  2. Type the name of the workspace.
  3. Press the Tab key if necessary.
  4. Press the Return/Enter key.

Open a workspace from its URL

  1. Click on the workspace's link (URL).
  2. The workspace will open in the current window.

Switch between workspaces

Switch workspaces from the master tab

Workspace switching changes out the tabs almost instantly and makes it easy to switch contexts as you move through your workday.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click on the workspace tab of the workspace you want to switch to.
  3. The tabs you had open in the window before will be moved to the tab cache.
  4. The workspace you clicked on will be moved from the tab cache into your current window.

Switch between open workspaces with the shortcut

Rapidly bounce back and forth between open workspaces with the switch shortcut.

Option
+
S

  1. Use the switch workspace shortcut from any tab.
  2. Toggle which workspace is selected by pressing Tab or S key; or by using the arrow keys.
  3. Confirm the workspace you want to switch to by pressing the Return/Enter or Spacebar key.
  4. You'll be placed on the tab you were on last time you were in the workspace.

Close a workspace

When you're done working in a workspace, you can close it at any time and all of the tabs and resources will be saved automatically. Closing a workspace also removes any of the workspace's open tabs from the tab cache.

Close a workspace from the workspace tabs

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the × button on the workspace tabs.

Close a workspace from the sidebar

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the workspace's name in the sidebar.
  3. Click the button that appears to the right of the name.
  4. Click Close.

Minimize a workspace

If you want to keep a workspace open, but don't want it in your window right now, you can minimize it. This behaves exactly like switching (the tabs are moved to the tab cache), except that you aren't opening something else.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the button on the workspace tab.

Rename a workspace

Rename the current workspace

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click on the big title at the top of the workspace.
  3. Enter the new name.
  4. Press the Return/Enter key.

Rename a workspace from the sidebar

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the workspace's name in the sidebar.
  3. Click the button that appears to the right of the name.
  4. Click Rename.
  5. Enter the new name.
  6. Press the Return/Enter key.

Change the color of a workspace

The color of a workspace can be set manually. If the workspace is in section, it can also be set to automatically inherit the section color.

The color helps you quickly identify the workspace in a number of places, including the sidebar, the master tab favicon, and in search results.

Change the color of the current workspace

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the button in the upper right of the workspace.
  3. Click Change color.
  4. Select a new color.

Change the color of a workspace from the sidebar

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the workspace's name in the sidebar.
  3. Click the button that appears to the right of the name.
  4. Click Change color.
  5. Select a new color.

Share a workspace

You can share a workspace with your teammates so they have access to everything they need for a project, meeting, or workflow as well.

Only resources are shared, so your tabs are always 100% private to you until you save them as a resource. That means everyone can work with a common set of resources, but each of you will have your own private space to work in.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the Share button in the upper right of the workspace.
  3. Enter the email addresses of the people you want to share with (pro tip: paste in comma-separated emails).
  4. Adjust the permissions if necessary.
  5. Press the Return/Enter key.
  6. Click Share workspace.

Link to a workspace

Each workspace has a unique URL that can be used to open the workspace. This is essentially a URL for a browser window. Pretty cool right?

The URL is the same for all collaborators, so feel free to put the link to a workspace in a calendar invite, a project management tool, or employee onboarding documents. When they click the link, everyone will be transported into the same virtual workspace where they can start collaborating.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Copy the workspace's URL from the browser address bar (looks like: workona.com/w/####/0/workspace-title).
  3. Paste the URL into a calendar invite or other app.

Organize workspaces into sections

Once you've created sections, you can begin to organize your workspaces with them.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Drag and drop the workspace's name in the sidebar into the section.

Delete workspaces

Delete the current workspace

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the button in the upper right of the workspace.
  3. Click Delete.
  4. Click Confirm.
  5. You can Undo from the notification that appears in the lower left.

Delete a workspace from the sidebar

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the workspace's name in the sidebar.
  3. Click the button that appears to the right of the name.
  4. Click Delete.
  5. Click Confirm.
  6. You can Undo from the notification that appears in the lower left.