Your team’s project docs are scattered across the web. Workspaces pull them together so everything you need for a project is in one place. They’re designed to keep up with even the fastest-moving projects, so your team can stay on the same page even if you’re not in the same room.
The people you invite will be able to instantly access the workspace from any browser (no extension required), just like a Google Doc.
If you grant them edit permission, they'll be able to start collaborating with you in the workspace in real time. With live updates and simultaneous editing, you'll feel like you're working in the same room.
Click the Share button in the top-right of the screen.
Click Copy link.
Send collaborators the link however you like.
Multiple share links
Click '+ Share link' to create multiple share links. For example, you could send clients a link that will only allow them to view the workspace, and send your internal team a link that will allow them to edit.
Click the picture/initials of collaborators that appear to the right of the workspace name. Alternatively, you can click the collaborator names in the lower-left of the share popup.
Click the Edit permissions button (pencil icon) that appears to the right of each collaborator's name to change their editing permissions. Note that you can set permissions using this same method when you first invite a collaborator.
Can edit - Collaborators with edit permission will be able to edit all shared workspace content, including resources, notes, and tasks, as well as the workspace itself (e.g. rename the workspace, add sections, etc.). Collaborators with edit permission will be allowed to share with others.
Can view - Collaborators with view permission will be able to view all shared workspace content, including resources, notes, and tasks, but will not be able to edit or change it. However, they will be able to add their own private content to the workspace (which won't be visible to anyone but them). Collaborators with view permission will not be allowed to share the workspace with others.
Private content (resource, notes, and tasks) that you add to a workspace will only be visible to you.
Use private content for all the things you personally need for the project, but that no one else needs to see. For example, you might use private resources for docs you're not ready to share yet, private tasks to keep track of what you personally need to do for the project, or private notes for your "notes to self".
Each workspace member can add their own private content within a shared workspace, even if they only have view permission. This way each person can execute on their portion of the project, with all the shared project content at their fingertips.
Open a workspace.
Click the big blue + button in the bottom-right of the screen.
Select the type of content you want to create:
Click Private resource to create a private resource.
Click Private note to create a private note.
Click Private task to create a private task.
Can educators use workspaces for remote classes?
Yes! Workspaces are perfect for remote learning. When a teacher shares a class workspace with students and grants them view permission, the students won't be able to change any of the resources the teacher has shared, but they will be able to add their own private resources, notes, and tasks for the class (students won't see each other's private content).