Tab Management

Our tab management feature is a powerful way to stay focused while you work. It limits distractions, lets you close workspaces with confidence, and keeps your work tidy, no matter how many projects you’re working on.


How tab management works

  • With tab management enabled, your browser will show only the browser tabs that are open in your current workspace. This way, you can immerse yourself in a single project or task without getting distracted.
  • Tab management restores your tabs after you’ve closed them, so you can pick up where you left off later.
  • When you’re ready to work on something else, simply switch workspaces and your tabs will switch, too. If you’d like a tab to persist when you switch workspaces, try using the Google Chrome feature of pinned tabs (right-click the tab and click Pin Tab).

Enable tab management

  1. Open Workona.
  2. Click your profile picture above the sidebar.
  3. Click Preferences.
  4. Click the slider to enable tab management. When the slider turns blue, select your preferences.
  5. Click the Done button.

View and manage open tabs in the tab drawer

  1. Open Workona.
  2. Click on a workspace in the sidebar.
  3. Click Preferences.
  4. Click the Tabs icon to the top-right of the sidebar to show the tab drawer. As you open tabs, they will appear in the tab drawer of each workspace.
  5. Click the + button on an open tab to save to your current workspace.
  6. Click the the x button on an open tab to close.
  7. Click the button on an open tab to remove from your current workspace.
  8. Drag and drop an open tab into another workspace to move it.
  9. Drag and drop an open tab into the find and create bar to move it into a new workspace.
  10. Drag and drop an open tab within the tab drawer to rearrange it in your browser window.
  11. Drag and drop an open tab into the resource area to add it as a resource.
  12. Use the above actions on multiple open tabs by holding down Shift or Cmd/Ctrl, then click to multi-select.

Suspend tabs

With tab suspension enabled, your browser will use less memory so it can run faster. Suspended tabs look just like normal tabs, except they don’t use memory.

  1. Open Workona.
  2. Click your profile picture above the sidebar.
  3. Click Preferences.
  4. Make sure the slider is blue (tab management is enabled).
  5. Select the tab suspension features you want.
  6. Click the Done button.

Open and close workspaces

  1. Open Workona.
  2. Click on the workspace in the sidebar to select it.
  3. To open a workspace, open a tab in the selected workspace.
  4. Your open workspaces will appear at the top of the sidebar.
  5. To close a workspace, find the workspace in Open workspaces at the top of the sidebar and click the x button.

Restore recent tabs

With tab management enabled, you can close workspaces without worrying about losing your place. Workona remembers your recent tabs and gives you the ability to instantly restore them.

  1. In Preferences > Session restore, choose between Manually restore previously open tabs when I open a workspace or Automatically restore previously open tabs when I open a workspace.
  2. Open Workona.
  3. Click on the workspace in the sidebar.
  4. If you chose automatic restore, your most recent tabs will automatically open.
  5. If you chose manual restore, your most recent tabs will appear in a pop-up, and you can choose to open them.
    • Use the « and » buttons to see less recent tabs and more recent tabs. Workona records up to 10 sessions.
    • Click Ignore to dismiss your tabs. If you change your mind, you can make recent tabs reappear by deselecting and reselecting the workspace with a click.
    • Click Restore tabs to open your recent tabs. Or to instantly restore your recent tabs, double-click on the workspace in the sidebar.

Move tabs between workspaces

  1. Open Workona.
  2. Click on the workspace in the sidebar.
  3. Click the Tabs icon to the top-right of the sidebar to show the tab drawer.
  4. Drag and drop an open tab from the tab drawer to another workspace in the sidebar.
  5. Or drag and drop multiple tabs by holding down Shift or Cmd/Ctrl, then click to multi-select.

Sync or merge tabs across computers

With tab management enabled, you can choose to restore your recent tabs from other computers. This keeps your work organized, no matter how many devices you use or where they are.

  1. Open Workona.
  2. Click on the workspace in the sidebar.
  3. Your most recent tabs from any device will appear.
  4. Click This computer to see sessions from your current device only.
  5. Use the « and » buttons to see less recent tabs and more recent tabs. Workona records up to 10 sessions of recent tabs.
  6. Click Ignore to start a fresh session. If you change your mind, you can always restore recent sessions later.
  7. Click Restore tabs to restore your previous tabs.
  8. If you click Ignore and then change your mind, click the button that appears to the right of the workspace name, and then click Restore previous tabs.
  9. If you have the same workspace open on multiple computers, you’ll see Changes from your other computer appear. Click Ignore to dismiss, or Apply changes to merge tabs from another workspace into your current workspace. Uncheck the box next to any change you don’t want to apply.

How hidden tabs work

  1. With tab management enabled, Workona moves your inactive tabs into a hidden tabs window to temporarily hide them for you.
  2. The window is minimized and shouldn’t get in your way. If you find yourself in the hidden tabs window, simply minimize it and return to your work.
  3. If you don't want to see the hidden tabs window, turn off tab management in Preferences. Remember that this will turn off all tab management features, including tab restoration and tab suspension.