Tabs


Definition

Tabs are just normal browser tabs. Tabs that you open within saved workspaces will be remembered if the workspace is closed and reopened.


Open a tab

To open a tab within a workspace, simply browse as you normally would.

  1. Open the workspace you want to work in.
  2. Open a new tab in the browser window as you normally would.

If you need some extra reassurance the tabs you've added are saved, you can open the master tab to check. If the tabs appear in the Tabs area and it says "All changes saved" to the right of the workspace title, then the session is saved.


Save a tab as a resource

Resources are a great way to keep everything you need at your fingertips without having to keep everything open. Think of them like bookmarks that only matter within the context of the project you're working on.

Save a resource from the master tab

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the tab you want to save in the Tabs area.
  3. Click the + button that appears to the right of the tab's name.
  4. The button will change to a and the tab will appear in the Resources area.
  5. You can now close the tab if you wish and the saved resource will remain.

Save a resource with drag and drop

  1. Drag and drop the tab from the Tabs area to the Resources area.
  2. The will appear on the tab and the tab will appear in the Resources area.

Save a resource with the shortcut

The save shortcut lets you save a resource without having to leave the tab.

Option
+
D

  1. Use the save resource shortcut from any tab.
  2. You'll see a notification confirming that the resource has been successfully created in your current workspace.

Close a tab

Just like with opening tabs, you close tabs in workspaces as you normally would.

  1. Go to the workspace you want to close something in.
  2. Close a tab in the browser window as you normally would.

Close a tab from the master tab

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over the tab you want to save in the Tabs area.
  3. Click the × button that appears to the right of the tab's name.
  4. The tab will close and disappear from the Tabs area.
  5. You can recover tabs you've closed in saved workspaces with the restore previous session feature.

Organize tabs

The easiest place to organize your tabs is within the master tab, but you can move them around in the window like you normally would as well.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Within the Tabs area, drag and drop the tab to where you want it in the list.
  3. The tab will change position in the list and the window.

Move a tab

Move a tab to an open workspace

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Within the Tabs area, drag and drop the tab to the open workspace tabs.
  3. The tab will be waiting for you in the workspace you moved it to.

Move a tab to a workspace in the sidebar

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Within the Tabs area, drag and drop the tab to the workspace in the sidebar.
  3. The tab will be waiting for you in the workspace you moved it to, even if the workspace wasn't open.

Preview tabs

If you're hunting for an open tab, but aren't sure what workspace it's in, tab preview comes in handy.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Hover over an open workspace tab until it shows the preview.
  3. Move your cursor across the other workspace tabs to preview their contents.
  4. Click on a specific tab to be switched to that workspace and placed on that tab.

Pin a tab

Workona ignores pinned tabs so that they're available in every workspace you open within the window. This is useful for keeping frequently accessed tabs like Gmail, Calendar, and Spotify at your fingertips no matter what you're working on.

  1. Right-click on the actual browser tab you want to pin (it is a Chrome feature, not a Workona feature).
  2. In the menu, select Pin Tab.
  3. A pinned tab icon will appear at the very left side of the workspace tab row in the master tab (open it now).
  4. If you hover over the pinned tab icon, you can remove pinned tabs from the menu that appears.

If you ever accidentally close your pinned tabs, click on the pinned tab icon at the very left side of the workspace tab row to recover them.


Suspend tabs

When you first open a workspace, Workona opens the tabs pre-suspended so they open instantly and don't use don't use up your computer's resources. As you click on tabs, they'll be loaded into memory. But sometimes it can be nice to have a little more control than that.

Suspend all tabs

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the button in the very upper right of Workona.
  3. Click Suspend all tabs.
  4. Click Suspend all to confirm.
  5. Click Done once the process is complete.
  6. A notification will appear telling you how much memory has been freed up.

Manually suspend tabs (not necessary)

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Click the button in the very upper right of Workona.
  3. Click Tab cache settings....
  4. Click Advanced.
  5. Click the button on individual tabs to suspend them.
  6. Click the Suspend button to suspend all of the tabs in a specific workspace.
  7. Click the Suspend all button to suspend all tabs.
  8. Suspended tabs will appear semi-transparent.

Restore a recent session

If something goes wrong and you ever need to restore a recent session (tabs) in a saved workspace, this feature can save the day.

  1. Open the master tab (open it now).
  2. Open the workspace that you want to restore the session within.
  3. Click the button in the very upper right of the workspace (next to Share).
  4. Click Restore recent session.
  5. Click the left arrow to go back in time until you see the session that you want.
  6. Click Restore session.